:: contact us :: :: sitemap :: :: home :: :: francais :: :: search ::

This site is no longer being updated, please visit our new portal at www.marinebiodiversity.ca

Find out more about our essay contest for Grade 12 students.

Welcome to the Centre for Marine Biodiversity (CMB) web site! The CMB is a non-profit society and was established in the Fall of 2000 in order to enhance our scientific capacity in support of the protection of marine biodiversity, with a focus on the Northwest Atlantic.

At this web site you will find general information concerning marine biodiversity, biographies of scientists and students working in the field of marine biodiversity, scientific reports of these projects as well as projects taken on by the Centre, reference lists, spectacular photos, databases, relevant links and much more. Although the CMB has an initial focus on the Northwest Atlantic, there is some information concerning both the Pacific and Arctic environments. Also see the photographs of these environments!

The CMB was formed in response to the 1992 Convention for Biological Diversity (CBD) and FAO's Code of Conduct for Responsible Fishing, which have established an international framework for broader conservation objectives for the management of ocean use activities. Consistent with these international legal instruments, the 1997 Oceans Act defines Canada's obligation to incorporate ecosystem considerations within an Oceans Management Strategy (OMS). In addition, the pending Species-At-Risk legislation (SARA) addresses a high profile component of these broader conservation objectives. Under the new legislation, Fisheries and Oceans Canada is to take the lead in developing the OMS, and will be responsible for protection of marine species under SARA.

There is a need to develop new partnerships to enhance our capacity for the provision of scientific advice in support of integrated management of ocean industries (e.g. oil and gas, marine transportation, aquaculture, eco-tourism and fisheries). Although there are many strengths, present research and advisory activities are scattered and uncoordinated, and the advisory process is of a "stovepipe" nature. There are critical gaps in research expertise that need to be addressed, as well as an expansion of oceans monitoring to include additional indicators of relevance to ecosystem objectives of integrated management. A better understanding of the resilience of marine ecosystems is required in order to assess anthropogenic impacts such as pollution, fishing practices, aquaculture and the introduction of alien species on biodiversity.

If you have any information concerning the web site, please email the administration or contact the us at the address below. Enjoy!

:: Centre for Marine Biodiversity ::
Bedford Institute of Oceanography B606
PO Box 1006
Dartmouth NS B2Y 4A2
Canada

:: what it is ::
:: what's new ::
:: about us ::
:: events ::
:: posters ::
:: research ::
:: photos ::
:: databases ::
:: links ::

:: contact :: :: plan du site :: :: accueil :: :: english :: :: cherche ::

This site is no longer being updated, please visit our new portal at www.marinebiodiversity.ca

Veuillez cliquer ici pour plus d'information sur notre concours de rédaction pour les élèves des classes de niveau 12.

Bienvenue sur le site Web du CBM (Centre pour la Biodiversité Marine)! Le CBM est une association à but non lucratif qui a été fondée en automne 2000 pour améliorer notre capacité scientifique à protéger la biodiversité marine, principalement dans l'Atlantique du Nord-Ouest.

Dans ce site, vous trouverez des informations générales concernant la biodiversité marine, des biographies de scientifiques et d'étudiants travaillant dans le domaine de la biodiversité marine, des rapports scientifiques sur ce thème ainsi que sur des projets du Centre, des listes de référence, des photos spectaculaires, des liens pertinents et bien plus. Même si le Centre a été élaboré sur l'Atlantique du Nord-Ouest, vous trouverez aussi dans ce site des informations concernant les environnements Pacifique et Arctique. Vous pouvez aller également admirer les photos de ces environnements!

Le CBM a été formé en réponse à la Convention pour la Diversité Biologique (CDB) de 1992 et au Code de conduite sur les pratiques de pêche responsable de la FAO, qui ont établi un cadre international d'objectifs de conservation élargis dans la gestion des activités reliées à l'océan. En accord avec ces instruments législatifs internationaux, la Loi sur les Océans de 1997 définit l'obligation du Canada de considérer les écosystèmes à travers une Stratégie de Gestion des Océans (SGO). De plus, la Loi sur les Espèces Menacées (LEM) met l'accent sur ces objectifs de conservation élargis. Dans le cadre de la nouvelle législation, Pêches et Océans Canada doit faire figure de leader en développant la SGO et sera responsable de la protection des espèces marines dans le cadre de la LEM.

Nous avons besoin de développer de nouveaux partenariats pour améliorer notre capacité à donner des avis scientifiques qui supportent la gestion intégrée des industries reliées à l'océan (par exemple, pétrole et gaz, transport, aquaculture, eco-tourisme et pêche). Malgré de nombreux points forts, la recherche actuelle et les activités de consultation sont éparpillées et non-coordonnées, et le processus consultatif est " cloisonné ". Il existe de sérieuses faiblesses dans l'expertise de recherche qui nécessitent d'être rectifiées. De la même manière, la surveillance des océans doit être étendue en ajoutant des indicateurs pertinents aux objectifs de gestion intégrée des écosystèmes. Une meilleure connaissance de la résistance des écosystèmes marins est recquise pour mesurer les impacts anthropiques tels que la pollution, les pratiques de pêche, l'aquaculture et l'introduction d'espèces étrangères sur la biodiversité.

Pour toute information concernant ce site Web, veuillez envoyer un courriel à l'administration ou contactez-nous à l'adresse ci-dessous. A bientôt!


Centre pour la Biodiversité marine
Institut Océanographique de Bedford B606
P.O. Box 1006
Dartmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse
B2Y 4A2,
Canada

:: qu'est-ce que la biodiversité marine ::
:: quoi de neuf ::
:: à notre sujet ::
:: réunions et événements  ::
:: affiches ::
:: recherche ::
:: photos ::
:: banques de données ::
:: liens ::